Country Profiles

get informations about the ecowas member countries


Benin, officially the Republic of Benin, borders Togo to the west, Nigeria to the east and Burkina Faso and Niger to the north. The capital of Benin is Porto-Novo, but the seat of government is located in the country's largest city of Cotonou.
Capital CityPorto-Novo
Population9.2 million
GDP, PPP (in $)21.75 billion

Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso is surrounded by six countries: Mali to the north, Niger to the east, Benin to the southeast, Togo and Ghana to the south, and Côte d'Ivoire to the southwest.
Capital CityOuagadougou
Population15.61 million
GDP, PPP (in $)20.84 billion

Cape Verde

The Republic of Cape Verde is an island country, spanning an archipelago of 10 islands located in the central Atlantic Ocean, 570 kilometres off the coast of Western Africa.
Capital CityPraia
Population0.49 million
GDP, PPP (in $)2.8 billion

Cote d’Ivoire

The Republic of Côte d'Ivoire is bordered by countries of Liberia, Guinea, Mali, Burkina Faso and Ghana; its southern boundary is along the Gulf of Guinea.
Capital CityYamoussoukro
Population20.53 million
GDP, PPP (in $)51.79 billion


The Republic of The Gambia, commonly known as The Gambia, or Gambia is the smallest country on mainland Africa, bordered to the north, east, and south by Senegal, with a small coast on the Atlantic Ocean in the west.
Capital CityBanjul
Population1.79 million
GDP, PPP (in $)4.37 billion


The Republic of Ghana is bordered by Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast) to the west, Burkina Faso to the north, Togo to the east, and the Gulf of Guinea to the south. The word Ghana means "Warrior King" and is derived from the ancient Ghana Empire.
Capital CityAccra
Population24.78 million
GDP, PPP (in $)73.69 billion


Guinea, officially the Republic of Guinea, is known as French Guinea (Guinée française), it is today sometimes called Guinea-Conakry to distinguish it from its neighbour Guinea-Bissau. Conakry is the capital, the seat of the national government, and the largest city.
Capital CityConakry
Population10.19 million
GDP, PPP (in $)16.85 billion


The Republic of Guinea-Bissau is bordered by Senegal to the north, and Guinea to the south and east, with the Atlantic Ocean to its west.
Capital CityBissau
Population1.52 million
GDP, PPP (in $)2.04 billion


Liberia, officially the Republic of Liberia, is bordered by Sierra Leone, Guinea, Côte d'Ivoire, and the Atlantic Ocean.
Capital CityMonrovia
Population3.89 million
GDP, PPP (in $)3.98 billion


Mali, is a landlocked country, borders Algeria on the north, Niger on the east, Burkina Faso and the Côte d'Ivoire on the south, Guinea on the south-west, and Senegal and Mauritania on the west.
Capital CityBamako
Population15.05 million
GDP, PPP (in $)26.89 billion


Niger, officially named the Republic of Niger, is a landlocked country in Western Africa, named after the Niger River. It borders Nigeria and Benin to the south, Burkina Faso and Mali to the west, Algeria and Libya to the north and Chad to the east.
Capital CityNiamey
Population16.46 million
GDP, PPP (in $)12.81 billion


Nigeria, officially the Federal Republic of Nigeria, is a federal constitutional republic comprising thirty-six states and its Federal Capital Territory, Abuja. The country shares land borders with the Republic of Benin in the west, Chad and Cameroon in the east, and Niger in the north.
Capital CityAbuja
Population158.5 million
GDP, PPP (in $)745.47 billion


Senegal, officially the Republic of Senegal, is externally bounded by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, Mauritania to the north, Mali to the east, and Guinea and Guinea-Bissau to the south; internally it almost completely surrounds The Gambia, namely on the north, east and south, exempting Gambia's short Atlantic Ocean coastline.
Capital CityDakar
Population12.68 million
GDP, PPP (in $)33.76 billion

Sierra Leone

Sierra Leone (Krio: Sa Lone), officially the Republic of Sierra Leone, is a country in west Africa. It is bordered by Guinea to the north and east, Liberia to the southeast, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west and southwest.
Capital CityFreetown
Population6.42 million
GDP, PPP (in $)7.28 billion


The Togolese Republic, often known as Togo, is bordered by Ghana to the west, Benin to the east and Burkina Faso to the north. It extends south to the Gulf of Guinea, on which the capital Lomé is located.
Capital CityLome
Population6.42 million
GDP, PPP (in $)7.35 billion